A Loving Family vs ‘Changing the World’

As i was scrolling through FB, photos and posts on Cameron & Delia Walcott’s 10th wedding anniversary appeared on my timeline.

I looked through those photos, and found myself reading Delia’s timeline, checking out some of her more recent posts.

Looking at the miscellaneous videos of her kids interacting with each other, i was hit by a thought that most of us wanted but never had: a happy family.

Even though i am not as active as many ‘on fire’ Christians when it comes to winning the world for Jesus, i always have this desire of wanting to win the world back for Jesus. My idea of achieving this is by the ‘constant carrying of the manifest presence of God’, healing multitudes, and performing some noble, brave or sacrificial acts that touches lives.

I’ve come to realise that changing the world isn’t just about all these happening acts. They are good, but pales in comparison when i see a godly, loving & happy family functioning.

Just by scrolling through some of Delia’s posts, i realise the impact her family is making to the people they interact with. It’s that day-to-day living as an ordinary family that loves and centers around God. They did not impact me or those around them because they made miracles; they impacted thise around them because of their family love.

Just by living their lives, they are setting an example for us who see and hear to follow and model after.
The results aren’t immediate, and they may never know the full impact they will make, but this is what i want to live my life for: to impact people through the way i live my life!
More than just words, signs and wonders, but living the day-to-day ordinary, God-centered life.
Isn’t that what Jesus did when He walked the earth?

I want my life and my family’s to revolve around love. The presence of love itself and Love Himself.
Then the world will know that He is Lord and He is God.

John 13:34-35 (NKJV)
“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.  By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”

Leave a Reply

